Member Spotlight: Stephanie Mormilo

    Stephanie Mormilo, PE | HDL Engineering Consultants, LLC

    In our member spotlight, Stephanie Mormilo, takes time out of her busy day to chat with SMPS. 

    What does a typical day look like for you?

    A typical day for me now is very different from a year ago. I wake up at around 7:00 a.m. I get up, put on my workout clothes, talk with my husband, Steve, who just finished his workout, and go feed my kitties. We have a 6-month-old kitten and a 4-year-old cat who both have their own specialty foods (for being young for one and overweight for the other) so I get to basically watch them eat. Then I work out, shower, and get dressed in my day pajamas. I’m currently only working part-time and mostly from home, so my day is split between work, some online meetings, playing with my cats, and chatting with my hubby who has now been working from home since last March. Then around 5ish, I start prepping for dinner and spend the rest of the evening chilling at home because what else am I going to do during these times?!?

    What was a pivotal point in your career? 

    When I decided to take the position of Municipal Traffic Engineer. It was scary being in an appointed position (I had to sign a letter saying I worked “at the pleasure of the Mayor”) where I could lose my job for any reason. Being that I had never worked a government position before, the first two years were like drinking water from a fire hose. I had to learn not only the job, but Municipal policies and procedures, union contracts (I had both AMEA and IBEW employees), and much, much more. The best and worst part of the job was the people. Funny how that works. The job changed me. I grew and learned a lot in my 9 years there and I will never regret the experience.

    What is on your bucket list?

    Travel. As much as I can to as many places as I can for as long as I can. I love experiencing new cultures, foods, and landscapes. There is so much beauty in the world and I try to find it both near and far.

    How do you spend time outside of work? 

    Outside of work, I am dichotomous as I love to be both active and completely lazy, depending on the day/time (sometimes on the same day). I work out literally every day, doing a variety of activities, although lifting weights and walking outside are my preferred methods. I love to cook and am an avid meal planner because I like to be prepared to cook—one of my pet peeves is starting a recipe only to realize I am missing a key ingredient. Other than that, I enjoy reading fiction to escape and watching a variety of television shows and movies—all of which can lead me to sitting in one place for hours on end. Good thing I like to work out, huh?

    What is the best and worst part of the pandemic for you?

    Best part is that I have improved my cooking skills even more and have even started to become a pretty good bartender. The worst part has been the isolation. I am an extrovert and love being around other people. I feel like I work best face-to-face and that really hasn’t been an option during the pandemic.

    What do you look forward to most in a post-COVID world? 

    Going to a movie, gathering with friends, getting back in the gym, and traveling.

    Who inspires you?  Who do you consider a role model?

    My sister, Melissa Branch. She is now and always will be my inspiration on how I want to be. She works hard, cares deeply, and isn’t afraid to dig deeper when answers don’t make sense. I push myself to be like her and try my best every day.

    Would you rather attend a sporting event, concert, or neither?

    Neither. I prefer small gatherings over big ones. I like them every once in a long while, but usually need a bit of “social lubricant” to help me ignore the shenanigans going on around me.